James Choy News

September 7, 2010

Tuitele will skip college ball to try the NFL


Lancer Tuitele, formerly known as Lancer Iosefa, was unable to make it on the 2010 Hawaii football roster, but the 5-foot-9-inch former Mountie instead will workout and train for the NFL in 2011.

Tuitele had written a waiver letter to the NCAA requesting a late entry to the Warriors football team, but was denied due to his time alloted to play for a Division I school.

“Since my D-1 clock is up, I was speaking to some D-2 schools about playing for them but it was too late to apply there as well so for the time being I will train here in Hawaii and get ready for Pro Day,” he said.

Tuitele said a number of professionals and former professionals from the NFL were impressed with his skills and felt Tuitele has a good chance to play in the pros.

“Mt. SAC has been a huge stepping stone for me,” Tuitele said. “Hawaii would’ve been real nice but the NFL is better.”

Tuitele was part of the 2009 Mt. SAC football team, who won the state and national championship by beating San Mateo by a score of 7-6.

It was the Mounties’ second title, their last won back in 1997.

After graduating from the junior college, Tuitele had been looking to play for a Division I school. But after a long search, Hawaii was one destination that Tuitele really wanted to be at.

“Actually I wanted to go to Hawaii all along,” he said. “During the season, I had my sights set on going there.”

But with the problems that came in getting Tuitele on board, he was optimistic regardless.

The Hawaii coaching staff did their best to get me on board, Tuitele said.

“They were expecting big things from me, but no worries, I’ll make it happen at the next level,” he said.

During his training, Tuitele plans to take several classes at Hawaii and later hire an agent during his preparations for the NFL.

His younger brother Burton currently is in San Jose with the family and may proceed to enroll in Hawaii come January.

“I’m not sure what his plans are but we’re both going to move forward no matter what,” Lancer said.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.